Life is a Dance

If you know me at all, you know I love to dance. Whether I’m in my kitchen, in a dorm room or swingin on a dance floor, I feel giddy when I’m dancing. This has always been something I’ve enjoyed doing, but about 5 years ago I began taking swing dancing lessons in Knoxville. I caught on quickly and soon began taking more progressive lessons. It was during one of these lessons that I received the best advice for dancing and life. The advice was to RELAX and TRUST. The follow is supposed to wait for the leads direction. If the lead knows what he is doing, the dance will be fun and effortless. I wasn’t very good at relaxing and trusting. I kept trying to anticipate the next move, and this was causing my mind and body to become tense. Once I began to relax and trust my partners, I became a better dancer and dancing became even more enjoyable.

I tell you this because of the song “We Dance” by Steffany  Frizzell. I heard this song in February of this year, and at the time, I felt like I was drowning in confusion and uncertainty. The song talks about dancing with God. As I listened to this song, I thought about the advice I had been given over 2 years ago. I needed to RELAX and TRUST God. I had been trying to take control. I had been trying to anticipate God’s next move before He was ready to reveal it to me. God isn’t a random guy at a dance hall. He knows what he is doing and He wants me to relax and trust Him to guide me through this beautiful dance of life.

“You steady me Slow and sweet we sway Take the lead and I will follow Finally ready now To close my eyes and just believe That you won’t lead me where you don’t go

When my faith gets tired And my hope seems lost You spin me round and round And remind me of that song The one you wrote for me And we dance And we dance

I’ve been told To pick up my sword And fight for love Little did I know That love had won for me Here in your arms You still my heart again And I breathe you in Like I’ve never breathed till now

When my faith gets tired And my hope seems lost You spin me round and round And remind me of that song The one you wrote for me And we dance And we dance And we dance And we dance Just you and me

And I will lock eyes With the one who’s ransomed me The one who gave me joy from mourning And I will lock eyes With the one who’s chosen me The one who set my feet to dancing We dance Just you and me It’s nice to know I’m not alone I’ve found my home here in your arms”

We Dance: Steffany Frizzell

Author: grace4kenya

I am a twenty-three-year-old woman who has recently decided to move to Kenya. Yes, as in Kenya Africa. I graduated from college one year ago, and what a year it has been. When I graduated from college I had a plan. I was going to finish student teaching in the fall, and after that I was going to move to North Dakota. I prayed about this plan. I had no doubt that this was what God wanted me to do. As it says in Proverbs 16:9, I decided on a plan, but God determined my steps. God removed all possibility for my plan to continue in October of 2016. I had no choice, but to allow God to guide me. I live one day at a time at first. During this time, God was graciously loving me. I was angry at him. I felt cheated. I felt lost. I felt discouraged. I felt like God had led me down a dead-end road. But God, in all of His goodness, made a path through the wilderness. Each step that I have made since October has led me to Kenya. I will be teaching children of medical missionaries, and I will be volunteering in a Kenyan church. God has gifted me with the skills needed to teach, and he has given me a passion for educating children. I will be using this blog to document my journey. The before, during and after of the journey. I have a fundraising profile link in the link section. I am relying on the generosity of other to make this journey happen. If you feel led to sponsor my trip, follow the link and it will take you to my World Gospel Mission account. I also covet the prayers of all. Prayer is never fruitless, but as I continue I will be posting specific ways people can pray for me. I look forward to bringing you along the journey with me.

1 thought on “Life is a Dance”

  1. Pingback: Life Is a Dance

Leave a Reply

