A Calling to Stay or to Return

IMG_5003.jpg

Within the last few weeks I have been pondering this question. Do I have a calling to stay here or to return home. My mentor recently told me something “We all, as Christians, are called. The real question to ask yourself is, am I called to stay? Do the reasons to stay outweigh the reasons to go? I have been reflecting on what my life here is like compared to what my life in America could look like. If I was in America, I would probably be either teaching full time or subbing in Knox County. I would be stressed with paperwork and lesson plans and classroom management methodology. I can say with almost 100% certainty that I would hate my job as a first year teacher in America.

But I don’t hate my job here. In fact, I love my job!! I have freedom to be as simple or as creative as I want to be. I can and do give each of my students one-on-one attention daily. I get to teach at a pace that enables my students to truly master the content. I get to pour all of my energy into lesson planning, instead of wasting time on paperwork, administrative work, and ect. Don’t get me wrong, I have rough days. I have days when I ask myself, “Am I doing this right?” I have days when I know the kids just didn’t get it. But my good days out number my bad. When I leave the classroom and I’m able to reflect back to the beginning and see progress. That is pure joy!

I am needed and appreciated here. I keep asking myself “do I have a reason to return home?” I’ve spent the last year slowly laying my every dream at the feet of Jesus. With every closed door, every failure and every disappointment, the grip I’ve held those dreams in has loosened. I haven’t made a decision yet, and I won’t make a decision anytime soon. I still have 7 months for God to provide me with a clear path.

Author: grace4kenya

I am a twenty-three-year-old woman who has recently decided to move to Kenya. Yes, as in Kenya Africa. I graduated from college one year ago, and what a year it has been. When I graduated from college I had a plan. I was going to finish student teaching in the fall, and after that I was going to move to North Dakota. I prayed about this plan. I had no doubt that this was what God wanted me to do. As it says in Proverbs 16:9, I decided on a plan, but God determined my steps. God removed all possibility for my plan to continue in October of 2016. I had no choice, but to allow God to guide me. I live one day at a time at first. During this time, God was graciously loving me. I was angry at him. I felt cheated. I felt lost. I felt discouraged. I felt like God had led me down a dead-end road. But God, in all of His goodness, made a path through the wilderness. Each step that I have made since October has led me to Kenya. I will be teaching children of medical missionaries, and I will be volunteering in a Kenyan church. God has gifted me with the skills needed to teach, and he has given me a passion for educating children. I will be using this blog to document my journey. The before, during and after of the journey. I have a fundraising profile link in the link section. I am relying on the generosity of other to make this journey happen. If you feel led to sponsor my trip, follow the link and it will take you to my World Gospel Mission account. I also covet the prayers of all. Prayer is never fruitless, but as I continue I will be posting specific ways people can pray for me. I look forward to bringing you along the journey with me.

Leave a comment