My Big Fat Greek Adventure

It truly was a FAT adventure! I probably gained 10lbs  while I was in Greece. The food was amazing, but the fellowship was even sweeter. The team of childcare workers were so wonderful to work with and fellowship with.

I left Kenya anticipating the ministry ahead of me. That the almost empty cup I held would be poured out even more. I left Kenya feeling tired. I looked ahead knowing that I would become even more tired. Only half of what I anticipated became a reality. I was tired. Every day I went to sleep exhausted, but my cup never became empty. The missionaries I served and my fellow teammates poured into me. They filled me with joyful fellowship, words of wisdom and encouragement and thoughtful generosity.

What filled me most though was watching this group of strangers from the U.S love my students so well. I love my students with every fiber of my being, but I know them. It filled me with joy to see others who don’t know them to love them and encourage them. Being an MK is not easy. Goodbyes come too frequently, and friendships are hard to maintain. Many MK’s often feel like they do not have a place where they fit. They don’t ever truly fit into the culture they’re living in, but they also don’t truly fit into their born culture. Many of the teens and older elementary students voiced these emotions and frustrations to those who were working with them in Greece. I see and experience these struggles just as the kids do, but this group of outsiders came and displayed love, compassion, empathy and encouragement in a way I never could.

It was this love that comes directly from the Father that myself and my students needed to experience. I needed to be reminded why I came to Kenya. God was reminding throughout my time in Greece that I am here in Kenya for these kids and their families. For security purposes I am not allowed to share pictures of the students here on my blog, but here are some pictures of my adventures while in Greece.

As you pray for families living on the mission field, please do not neglect to pray for their children. The children within a house are just as important as those outside the house.

Author: grace4kenya

I am a twenty-three-year-old woman who has recently decided to move to Kenya. Yes, as in Kenya Africa. I graduated from college one year ago, and what a year it has been. When I graduated from college I had a plan. I was going to finish student teaching in the fall, and after that I was going to move to North Dakota. I prayed about this plan. I had no doubt that this was what God wanted me to do. As it says in Proverbs 16:9, I decided on a plan, but God determined my steps. God removed all possibility for my plan to continue in October of 2016. I had no choice, but to allow God to guide me. I live one day at a time at first. During this time, God was graciously loving me. I was angry at him. I felt cheated. I felt lost. I felt discouraged. I felt like God had led me down a dead-end road. But God, in all of His goodness, made a path through the wilderness. Each step that I have made since October has led me to Kenya. I will be teaching children of medical missionaries, and I will be volunteering in a Kenyan church. God has gifted me with the skills needed to teach, and he has given me a passion for educating children. I will be using this blog to document my journey. The before, during and after of the journey. I have a fundraising profile link in the link section. I am relying on the generosity of other to make this journey happen. If you feel led to sponsor my trip, follow the link and it will take you to my World Gospel Mission account. I also covet the prayers of all. Prayer is never fruitless, but as I continue I will be posting specific ways people can pray for me. I look forward to bringing you along the journey with me.

Leave a comment